Log in

OMA Board of Directors

Zoom OMA Board meeting image

OMA Board meeting, January 2021. From left to right. Top row: Janice Crane, Pamela DeCarlo (OMA admin), Stephanie Craig, Kyle Weismann-Yee.  Middle row: Zachary Stocks, Tim Hecox, Eleanor Sandys, Katie Henry (Oregon Heritage). Bottom row: Sarah Baylinson, Katie Williams, Nicole Yasuhara, Dan Ruby.

Timothy Hecox, Board President

Portland Metro

Hecox photoTim Hecox is the Board President of the Oregon Museums Association and Interim Senior Manager of Exhibits, Programs, and Collections at Pittock Mansion in Portland, OR. Tim has been in the museum, parks, and cultural sector for over eighteen years with previous positions in Museum Education, Exhibit and Program Development, Project Management, Community Engagement, and Strategic Fundraising. Over the course of his career, he has provided leadership over numerous large-scale projects supported by such organizations as the National Science Foundation, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), and the Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS). Tim is also currently on the board of the Coalition of State Museum Associations and Multnomah County Cultural Coalition, and has previously served on committees for the American Alliance of Museums (AAM) and Association for Science-Technologies Centers (ASTC). Tim was elected to the OMA Board in 2017.

Sarah Baylinson, Board Vice President

Central Oregon

Sarah Baylinson is the Collections Manager at the High Desert Museum in Bend, OR. Previously, she was the Collections Manager at the Bowman Museum in Prineville, OR and the Museum Manager at the Log House Museum in Seattle, WA. Sarah has worked in a variety of museum related fields including exhibit preparation for King Tutankhamun: The Golden King and the Great Pharaohs and fine art handling for Artech Fine Art Services. She has had the opportunity to work and volunteer with many Puget Sound museums including Hibulb Cultural Center, The Nordic Heritage Museum, and The Island County Historical Society. Sarah has a Certificate of Museum Studies from the University of Washington and a Bachelor of Fine Arts from The School of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Kyle Weismann-Yee, Board Treasurer, DEAI Committee Chair

Portland Metro

Weismann-Yee photoKyle Weismann-Yee has over a decade of experience coordinating community-based programs and making grants to rural communities and communities of color.  He is passionate about using history and museums as community building and social change-making catalysts to help communities envision a more just future. He has led community programs that use public history as the foundation for understanding and being active in social change.

Nicole Yasuhara, Board Member, Membership Committee Chair

Portland Metro

Yasuhara photoNicole Yasuhara is the Deputy Museum Director at the Oregon Historical Society in Portland. Nicole graduated from University of Hawaii with a BA in Anthropology and then received her MA from George Washington University in Museum Studies with a focus on Collections Management. She has served at the Oregon Historical Society in many functions since 2008. Nicole was elected to the OMA Board in 2015.

Photo Rosemary Ragusa Photography

Zachary Stocks, Board member

The Coast

Stocks photoZachary Stocks is the Executive Director of Oregon Black Pioneers and lives and works in Astoria. Zachary has 10 years experience as a public historian and museum professional and has interpreted Pacific Northwest History at Historical Seaport, Lewis and Clark National Historical Park, and the Northwest African American Museum before coming to Oregon Black Pioneers. He has a BA in History from the College of William & Mary and an MA in Museology from the University of Washington.

Katie Williams, Board Secretary, Programs Committee Chair

Portland Metro

Williams photoKatie Williams has been in the museum field for over 13 years. Most recently, she served as the Education Manager at World of Speed Motorsports Museum in Wilsonville, OR. Prior to joining World of Speed, Katie was the Education Manager at the Northwest African American Museum in Seattle, where she also served as the Programs Officer for the Museum Educators of Puget Sound. She has years of experience in interpretive techniques and creating engaging, experiential learning opportunities for students of all ages.  Katie earned her MA in Museum Studies from John F. Kennedy University and her BA in Art History from Lewis & Clark College and has completed internships at the Wing Luke Asian Museum, Oakland Museum of California, and the Asian Art Museum, among others. She is excited to be back in the greater Portland area and to serve on the OMA board.

Dan Ruby, Board Member

Southern Oregon

Ruby photoDan Ruby is a consultant for the museum and nonprofit field. He served as Executive Director of ScienceWorks Hands-on Museum in Ashland from 2018 to 2021. He previously led Fleischmann Planetarium at the University of Nevada, Reno, and is Past President of the Nevada Museums Association. Dan joined the OMA board in 2019.

Eleanor Sandys, Board Member, Conference Committee Chair

Willamette Valley

Sandys photoAt the Oregon Arts Commission, Eleanor serves as collections manager for Oregon’s Percent for Art Collection and coordinates the Art in the Governor’s Office program, which features the work of contemporary Oregon visual artists. Over the course of her museum and nonprofit administration career, Eleanor has worked and interned at a variety of arts and cultural organizations in the West, including SCRAP PDX, FOR-SITE Foundation, Oregon Nikkei Legacy Center, Portland Chinatown Museum, Portland Japanese Garden, Phoebe Hearst Museum of Anthropology at UC Berkeley, the Museum of Contemporary Craft and the San Francisco Arts Commission. Eleanor has a Master’s in Museum Studies from John F. Kennedy University and a bachelor’s in Cultural Anthropology from Reed College. She believes in the power of museums and the arts to present diverse experiences, generate critical conversations and encourage new perspectives.

Stephanie Craig, Board Member

Willamette Valley

Photo of Stephanie CraigStephanie Craig is the Collections Registrar for the Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde’s Chachalu Tribal Museum and Cultural Center in Grand Ronde Oregon.  She is also a 7th generation traditional basket weaver and tribal member. She has worked the last 10+ years as a private contractor for Tribal museums, state and county historical museums helping develop and implement Native American exhibits, interpretation, education and curation. She has a BA degree in cultural anthropology with an emphasis on Northwest Native American cultures, and an interdisciplinary MA degree in cultural anthropology, museum studies and folklore studies.

Janice Crane, Board member

Mt Hood/The Gorge

Photo of Janice CraneJanice Crane is the Executive Director of the Friends of the Cascade Locks Historical Museum in the fabulous Columbia River Gorge. She entered the museum industry in 2010 and has served in primarily operations and education capacities. Janice’s Oregon museums career includes work at the Rice Northwest Museum of Rocks and Minerals and the Washington County Museum (now Five Oaks Museum) in Hillsboro, and the Douglas County Museum of Natural & Cultural History in Roseburg. Originally from southwest Florida, Janice has an MA in Folklore Studies with an emphasis in Historic Preservation from Western Kentucky University and an MBA in Nonprofit Management from the University of Portland.

Board member job description and application

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 8604, Portland, OR 97207
Contact: connect@oregonmuseums.org 
Subscribe to our newsletter

Copyright 2021 - Oregon Museums Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software